Being Vegan in the Wizarding World!

A NOTE TO THE READER: Hello!  This article is in no way meant to push these views on anyone.  It has been written purely to inform.  Happy reading and keep on the look out for Nargles!

Veganism is quickly spreading around the Wizarding and Muggle world alike. If you do not know, veganism is the practice of not eating or using animal products or things tested on animals. Some examples: Vegans do not eat ice cream (from milk, therefore cows), cheese pizza (from milk, therefore cows and the crust most likely has eggs from chickens), or soaps tested on animals (the formula is tested on them so it isn’t harmful to humans, but it’s potentially harmful to the animals).

I asked Thistle, Executive Editor of the Quibbler, why is she a Vegan. “Everyone has their own path in life, their own time and no two paths are the same. On my path, I feel that this is what was right for me. There are quite a lot of things that have turned me [into a Vegan] over the years: seeing things I’m not okay with, finding what I believe in.  It’s a healthy choice and it was the right time!”

How is it possible to not eat animal products? 

Being a Vegan is hard and challenging, especially if you are picking up new habits after years of eating whatever you desire. In order to become Vegan, you can’t simply just declare one day that you are Vegan. To be healthy, you must transition. Transition periods last anywhere from one week to ten years, depending on the person. “I have been Vegetarian for two and a half years and I am now transitioning to be a full-time Vegan,” says Thistle, Executive Editor of the Quibbler. Over time, simply substitute one food for a animal-friendly alternative.

This process seems really hard to stick too, but it can be easier than you think. Besides, with most things that make you healthier long term goes hand and hand with hard work and diligence. Most people think Vegans eat plants alone, and even I have to admit eating salad for the rest of my life is a depressing thought. However, that is not the case at all if you know what to look for! 

Being Vegan at Hogwarts

For those of you fellow witches and wizards that are Hogwarts age, Headmistress Fantomu says, “The house-elves prepare a variety of foods. However, if special dietary needs are required, talk to the appropriate Head of House and they will pass it on to the house-elves.” Another question I asked Miss Fant was: “What about Vegans in potions class (which is required)? There are several animal products involved in brewing potions.” Miss Fant said, “Potions class is an integral part of the classes at Hogwarts, so we encourage complete involvement. However, if there is an personal issue against it, it can be negotiated with the professor to sit out of that class.”

Being Vegan in Diagon Alley

Diagon Alley is a popular place for many witches and wizards. It’s the “go to” place when in need of anything magical or when you just need a break from your fast-paced lives. Despite what many people think, Diagon Alley actually has Vegan foods! At the Leaky Cauldron, there is Garden Salads, Minted Peas, and Sautéed Mushrooms, along with the famous Pumpkin Juice and Gillywater! Sadly, the even more famous and desired Butterbeer is not Vegan, but you can make your own Animal-friendly recipe! Just borrow a Muggle’s phone or computer and search it! Many people think being a Vegan means no sweets, but that’s not always the case. At Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes there is edible Dark Mark lollipops and Puking Pastilles (which saves you from lengthy and stressful classes)! A little walk from there is Sugarplum’s Sweet Shop, which has Vegan sweets that might play to your taste more: Candy in a Can (strawberry and watermelon candies), Tongue Burners Tooth Splintering Strong Mints (mints VERY strong, as the name implies), Pear Drops, Pineapple Cubes, Fizzy Wizzy, Sherbert Lemons, and much more. Dark chocolate is usually Vegan as well (depending on the brand), and I found I actually prefer the taste of dark chocolate over milk chocolate. A basic rule of thumb for eating Vegan anywhere really: look at the ingredients list first, and if there isn’t an ingredients list or if you have any doubts, don’t hesitate to ask the store manager or owner! I’m sure they will be more than happy to accommodate you.

In conclusion, in order to become a full time Vegan, you have to start with the little choices in life. “The elevator to success is out of order. You’ll have to use the stairs, one step at a time” (Joe Girard). As Erdal (Erdalumos), new member to DA says, “I respect them [vegans]; they’re strong people! I mean, it’s hard to keep an eye on what you’re eating if many things are made with animal stuff.” Just remember fellow wizards and witches, if you transfigure something non-vegan into something vegan, it still has the same nutritional value, and therefore animal products, as the previous food! So be careful of what you eat and remember the animals! Overall, if you are vegan in the wizarding world there are many options to explore, these are just a few. There are many options for Vegan witches and wizards to explore other than plants! As Erdal, official DA member that happily helps everyone, says “Ve-gan do this!”

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *